A short piece I wrote for my course, based on a war diary extract…

[Scene 13]

[Abandoned attic.  A cold evening.  CLARENCE ARMSTRONG (55) follows as DCI OBERMEISTER (55) enters, panting.  FLOYD ARMSTRONG hangs dead.]

DCI OBERMEISTER]

Sir, I don’t / think.

CLARENCE]

Move man!

DCI OBERMEISTER]

I-I-I’m sorry… / He’s dead sir.

CLARENCE]

Floyd!

DCI OBERMEISTER]

(Picks up paper)

A note.

CLARENCE]

Read it!

DCI OBERMEISTER]

Sir, I-I…

CLARENCE]

Now!

DCI OBERMEISTER]

As you wish.

(Reading note)

I was born to Eleanor and Clarence Armstrong…  Always to follow father into his firm…  They bestowed me a fine education…  Neither mammy, nor father knew of what has become my dolor…  I can now square with God.

(To CLARENCE)

Shall I / continue sir?

CLARENCE]

Do please…

DCI OBERMEISTER]

At Sedbergh, I was absorbed by dualism…  By fourteen, I learnt how we suffer the inner conflict of good versus evil…  As I ripened, I surrendered to my sinful self…  Roscoe Tann and I practiced the captive shooting of pheasants…  I intended to banish this lust for ruin… However, when mother caught Corporal Bell and I in trade… I murdered them… There have been others…  Blue men…  Finally, I strangled Maude Brown…  Punishing her gloomy tales exquisitely…  That dour girl was my last…

CLARENCE]

God no…


 

Leave a Reply

