The Leisure Argument

!!

Andrew
I’m off this weekend.

James
Anything planned?

Andrew
Nah, could do with a break from it all though, recharge the batteries.

James
Fancy getting out on the water with me?

Andrew
You got to be kidding, After last time? You need to take a chill pill.

James
I don’t understand how you can just sit there and short-circuit.

Andrew
After the week I’ve had at work, even you would be taking it easy. I had to break in all the crossovers from Nottingham, and my god are they slow on the uptake? I can’t handle being out in the boat with you fishing, after a week of explaining to every other member of staff where the bloody loos are. They never move, and they are fricking signposted.

James
Give over, it’s just what the doctor ordered. Out there battling the waves, hunting for fodder. It’ll put hairs on your chest man, just like your Nanna would have said.

Andrew
Gonna give it a miss mate, got some serious Football Manager to be catching up on, and I’ve still not finished watching Breaking Bad.

James
From what I’ve heard about that, Walt is it, he’d appreciate being out with me. I’m a man’s man me. Just because I am not being paid, does not mean that the work must stop. I can’t afford to sit around watching boxsets and playing games.

Andrew
Everybody needs a rest dude. You are a heart attack waiting to happen. You’ll crash and burn.

James
It’s still fun mate. I just like to stay active. You don’t see animals just lounging about watching television. Most only fuck to procreate.

Andrew
And just who is the dominant species?

James
Is that it, just because we have the power of thought and opposable thumbs, we should be able to sit around and watch hours and hours of inane trite on the idiot box, it aint called that for nothing. Don’t you think that you should be utilising some of the skills that man has learnt over time. You’re a young, fit lad Andy. You could live off the land if you put your mind to it. Go off grid. Perhaps you could be part of the next significant breakthrough for mankind.

Andrew
No need to go all Biblical on me. I like to work, but I need my rest, that’s all.

James
Sleep should be rest enough, you cannot honestly tell me that without watching Walt and Pinkman cook crystal meth that you will die.

Andrew
All work and no play, makes me a dull boy!

Leave a Reply

